Donna Roof: Today, Tomorrow, and Every Day

Amen!

In the next election, I would hope that 25 of the 50 that voted against public education are defeated in their bid for reelection. This will send that message to them that they work for the people not themselves and their party.

Diane Ravitch's blog

Donna Roof is a retired high school teacher in Indiana:

Today, I am heartsick and outraged…I saw 50 Senators and our Vice-President vote for a person who is highly unqualified to be our country’s Secretary of Public Education.

Today, I am heartsick and outraged…I witnessed how politicians have loyalty to their corporate donors rather than the common good.

Today, I am heartsick and outraged…I hear yet again the myth of failing public schools.

Today, I am heartsick and outraged…I fear what will happen to the neighborhood public schools who welcome all children.

Today, I am heartsick and outraged…I find offensive the assault on the teaching profession.
But yet…

Today, I am hopeful…I saw 50 Senators who pushed back in committee and testified for 24 hours for public education.

Today, I am hopeful…I stand in solidarity with public education supporters–teachers, parents, students, concerned citizens–who voiced their outrage via emails, tweets, phone…

View original post 191 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

