When Chemtchr Fell in Love with Science

Diane Ravitch's blog

This wonderful comment was posted in response to my article in “Scientific American”:

“This is very special for me, because 51 years ago, on July 25 1962, my mother gave me a subscription to Scientific American for my 13th birthday. She bought me the current issue, cut out the subscription form and mailed it, and then gift-wrapped the magazine. She also baked me a heart-shaped cake (make a 9″ square one, and a 9” round one, and cut the round one in half, and lay out the heart).

I had only bought one issue before that; this one:
http://backissues.com/issue/Scientific-American-September-1961
I lived on an unpaved road in rural Florida, with a front row seat on the rollout of the greatest discoveries in cell biology.

It was from this magazine I learned what the military industrial complex was, studying the ads for mysterious entities like Rand Corporation. The editors had no more…

View original post 122 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

